Sneaky Card #1

Posted on October 8, 2016

0



Last night I went out with some friends for dinner and drinks. We started at one place where I had a happy little whiskey concoction with my meal. This place was a prime people-watching establishment.  Such a motley array of demograph and social categories. So we gave some of them background stories. It’s a fun little game I like to play sometimes (and can occasionally get pretty elaborate). 

After we finished up there, we decided to head to the little speakeasy down the street. It was the monthly Art Walk last night, so the streets were replete with peoples, musics, wares and arts. Good times.  

I savoured a Balvenie as we chatted up the bartenders and got to hear a great story about giraffes and why they are the sexiest animal. 

We settled up there and hopped over to the neighboring cafe/bar where my companions imbibed these delightful vodka/fizzy/fresh multi-berry drinks (I snuck a couple sips ^_^). We listened to live music, sang along to Killing Me Softly (you know you do it to), and obsessed about a neighboring patron’s mac and cheese. 

I was going somewhere with this story, wasn’t I? Ah yes, the card. On our walk back to the cars, we passed many people. Wait, let me back up… I decided that it was a good time to pass out high fives to strangers. There’s just something about high fiving… It brings joy. (I’ve got stories… One involving a passing cyclist initiating the high five (he made my day!) and another where I spent an escalator ride high fiving the escalator passengers going the opposite direction as we passed.) You connect with people. It’s stupid and corny enough to bring people together. Anywho… My group started high fiving the people we passed on the street. All this connection and such put me in mind to bring out and use one of my cards. 

The selfie card! “Take a selfie with a total stranger.” I’m a bit disappointed in who I chose to do this with me, however. She wasn’t engaged and I doubt she’ll do anything with the card. But here’s the selfie:

This is my friend, myself and the girl.  …That face I’m making… That stupid, teethy, bring-the-corners-of-my-mouth-back-as-far-as-they-can-go smile is my selfie face. Every. Single. Time. 

So yeah, that long-winded story was how I gave away Sneaky Card #1, never to turn up again because it probably ended up in the bin or at the bottom of her oversized purse, just to be folded up later as a place to put her gum.  (Wow that was negative… Okay, let’s try to give her the benefit of the doubt. I’ll keep you posted if it ends up getting tracked 😉 )

Posted in: Sneaky Cards