Mock Tuna Salad (Vegan)

Posted on August 6, 2012

2



I have a new love affair with mock tuna salad.  It’s so simple and so cheap; there aren’t many ingredients.  I enjoy it so much, I decided to share it with my Lovelies.  I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a “measure this, measure that” type of cook.  I dump stuff in until it “looks right”.  So I took the pains of measuring for you fine folks.  I also decided to take photos to go with the process, as I personally like a good visual.  Something about viewing a recipe which includes photos makes me giddy.  (I’m sorry, I forgot to photograph every stinkin’ thing, but I trust you’ll be fine 😉 )  So without further ado, let’s get down to it.

Mock Tuna Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 (19 ounce) can garbanzo beans
  • 3 tablespoons vegan mayonnaise (recipe below)
  • 2 teaspoons spicy brown mustard
  • 1 tablespoon relish (or capers… I absolutely love this stuff with capers, but I am currently all out)
  • 1/8-1/4 medium oinion (or 2 green onions, suit your fancy)
  • 1 tbsp sesame seeds
  • dash of cayenne
  • salt, pepper and dill to taste (really, experiment with it. I’ve put several different spices in, depending on my mood at the moment. Have fun with the flavours!)

Preparation:

Drain and mash the garbanzos in a medium bowl.

Like so. I rock at mashing stuff.

When you’re done taking out your aggressions on the chick peas (what’d they ever do?), add all your other junk.

I’m also boss at chopping. Look at those pretty onion pieces….

“nyahh puttem-relishes-in-there”

Tablespoon of sesame seeds. This is to give us our complete protein.

Don’t forget your spicin’s.  Mix-er-up real good.

Enjoy your mock tuna with c’ackers, on a sammich or wrap, with veggies or on its own.

Hellz yeah, deliciousness!

Now… how can we make this if we don’t have the mayo?  Alright, you can use your regular mayo if you’re not vegan.  But if you are, you can either buy Vegenaise or make some yourself.  I happen to have a very simple, quick recipe for it:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup lemon juice (I have limes right now, and they work fine for me)
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons mustard
  • 3/4 cup oil (canola or olive)
  • couple dashes of cayenne

Preparation:

Put all the ingredients into a food processor or blender except the oil and start processing on low speed.  While it’s going, slowly and steadily pour the oil in through the top.

Like so

Continue blending a bit more.  The mixture will become a little “creamy”.   Chill before using it.  It’ll thicken up some as it cools.

Ta DAAAAAA!!! This stuff is great

Now get in the kitchen and try this piquant pabulum!   And hey, if you make it and decide to put in your own ingredients/spices, let me know what you did and how yummy it was. 😀   Enjoy, Lovelies!

 

Posted in: Recipes