“Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.” ~ Groucho Marx

Posted on November 16, 2011

4



I discovered reading again in 2008, after many years of avoiding it.  When I was a child, I was an avid reader and eagerly anticipated the days my mother would take me to the library where I could peruse the new arrivals and check out a stack to take home and devour.

Somewhere along the way, the enjoyment of reading slipped away from me and I eschewed it like it was that co-worker who prefers to look at my chest instead of my eyes whilst conversing with me.  Perhaps my problem was that I didn’t find things that caught my fancy.  I don’t know.  But I loathed it.

What got me back into it was two wonderful, very talented authors.  Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child.  I love them so.  They are a brilliant team with intelligent writing style.  Their books are like…. know how you go to your favourite restaurant and you order the best thing on the menu, eat slowly, allowing your whole palate to enjoy each bite… and you finish and then order desert and when it arrives, it’s delectable and perfect?  It’s not too sweet, and it seems to just…. dissolve.  Yeah, their books are like that for me.  Anyway, I zipped through all of their Pendergast series and read some of the books two or three times.  I’ve also picked up their other books, as well as some they’ve written individually (I do enjoy Preston’s writing more).

Once I caught the bug, I decided to find other books that would interest me.  The Princess Bride is one of my treasures.  I went through most the Jane Austen novels (except Emma – it’s too long for a book in which I really cannot stand the character).  In her, I found more treasures (Persuasion and Pride and Prejudice).  I started going through some other classics; books that in high school, you normally will read (I didn’t).  It took me a while into my new reading “career” to realise I didn’t have to finish a book once I started it.  Wish I had come to this conclusion earlier; would have saved me some wasted time.  I rejected a few (like a couple of Chuck Palahniuk’s, Lord of the Flies and Catch 22).

Currently, I have started a couple that I plan on finishing someday.  I started one over a year ago and then started attending college, so it unfortunately got put on the back burner (sad times). The Law and the Lady by Wilkie Collins. Excellent book!  The other is the latest Pendergast book (Cold Vengeance) that I started between semesters and wasn’t able to finish before I started my next semester.

So are you a reader?

What books catch your fancy?

Do you stop reading if you don’t like the book, or do you drudge through it?

What is your favourite book?

Posted in: Books