“The real voyage of discovery (or recovery) consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes.” ~ Marcel Proust

Posted on October 28, 2011

12



And it’s through those new eyes that you can see the love and the gifts that you are given everyday.

This morning, I decided I was going to “treat” myself.  I broke from my routine, came into the living room and lit some candles.  I pulled out the grinder, poured in the coffee beans, hit “grind” and added vanilla to the pot.  Making coffee is something I rarely do for myself.  Namely because I don’t like the time involved in preparing it and then cleaning up after myself (lazy much?).  But I determined that this would be a nice morning for it and that it was worth the effort.  It finished brewing and I poured some in a mug and added a little cream and a dash of pumpkin pie spice.  Headed to the couch, I took a sip.  Yummy!  So I sit now, coffee resting on the table and I look around: my candles, flames happily dancing in the crisp morning light.  The steam seductively rising from the mug.  And I listen to Carla Bruni.  It’s a good morning.  It’s low key.  It’s comforting.  It takes my mind from the crazy studying I will have to do today and remainder of the weekend.  And I appreciate the gifts in these simple things I have.

We are given so many gifts every single day.  But in order to receive them, we need to consciously be aware of them.  Like the beautiful day… in order to receive that gift, you have to decide to do so.  It was going to be there whether you acknowledged it or not.  It doesn’t need you in order to go by or pass.  But if you stop and appreciate it, you’re choosing to obtain a marvelous gift and it brings you more happiness and love for your life.  How often do we forget to acknowledge and accept the gifts of scents, flavors, colours, flowers, sunrises/sets, smiles, hugs, music, etc?  These are beauties that we’re encompassed by everyday.  Are you paying attention?

Today I will delight in the fresh autumn air.  I will bask in the warmth of the sun through the cool.  And I will notice everyday syncronicities in life as they point me toward furthering my dreams.

What gift(s) will you receive today?

Posted in: inspiration